Posted on:

Kenton Koch gives ALARA Racing back to back Mazda MX-5 Cup Championships. Team gets top awards from Mazda and SCCA Pro.

A year after Christian Szymczak secured the 2013 Championship for ALARA Racing, Kenton Koch was crowned the 2014 MX-5 Cup champion at the end of the Petit leMans weekend at Road Atlanta. Unlike Christian, whose championship wasn’t sealed until the last checkered flag fell, Kenton had already put his stamp on the season before arriving at Road Atlanta. He only needed to take the start of one of the races to secure the championship.2014 MX5 Cup Round 12, Road Atlanta, Petit Le Mans Weekend, Frid

But his plan wasn’t to just cruise to the finish. Kenton went out in qualifying and set two blistering laps on his first laps out of the gate that no one could match, securing a double pole (to make the tally a solid 9 out of 12 for the season!) and the five additional points that come with it. Kenton battled for the lead in both races for the weekend, finishing fourth and second to close out the year with the widest championship points margin in the history of the class.

At the series awards banquet, ALARA Racing’s technical leader, Ken Murillo, was awarded the “Spirit of Mazda” award for his achievements in the series and beyond as he orchestrated not one, but two major championships in the same year. ALARA Racing’s sister team, Murillo racing, took the Continental Tire Street Touring championship with Eric Foss and Jeff Mosing, drivers that previous competed in the Mazda MX-5 Cup series. Piling on, ALARA Racing was also awarded the coveted “Team Of The Year” for the third time. Team drivers Timothy Paul and Ara Malkhassian also finished in the championship top ten for the season.2014 MX5 Cup Round 11, Road Atlanta, Petit Le Mans Weekend, Thur

ALARA Racing is preparing cars for the 2015 season and has open seats for funded drivers. Please contact team principal, Ara Malkhassian, for test dates and information about how ALARA Racing can help you achieve your pro racing goals in the exciting Mazda MX-5 Cup series.

Mazda’s three-time “Team of the Year” and series reigning champions, ALARA Racing is the Mazda MX-5 Cup series’ longest standing team, having been preparing cars and winning since series inception in 2006. As back-to-back champions, ALARA Racing’s technical team has been responsible for countless poles, track records, race fast laps, and victories. Houston, TX-based ALARA Racing can be reached at and or (713) 398-3314.

Images courtesy of John Kernodle.

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/83/5428783/tmp/sess_rc3rnsdpb0k55e1nve4ajn5fb1, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0